top of page

Faith For the New Year


Faith, door, bible

2018 is upon us!

1 John 2: 3 Now by this we know that we know Him, if we keep His commandments. 4 He who says, “I know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.

It's not just our words that prove we are followers of Jesus, it’s also in our actions.

Often, we are told something by God through the Holy Spirit. We feel it in our bones, heart, and soul. You know He has commanded you to do it, but we feel that His request is optional. I think it makes sense we would feel that way. We have been raised to think Jesus is only our friend and only died for us to be with Him; not so that He could have US with Him. He died so HE could have US with Him for eternity. This is not just a clever play with words, this a total shift of your premise. As a Husband and a Father, I do things contrary to my nature or my will. I do these things cause I love my family and want to be with them. Things that cause me to humble myself and listen, serve, or abstain; when I would prefer otherwise. We know Jesus did not prefer the way of the cross for our salvation, but He did it anyways (read Matthew 26: 39). This year you will need to make changes that align with Gods’ will. You may not prefer these changes, but your motivation is doing His will.

1 John 2: 9 He who says he is in the light, and hates his brother, is in darkness until now. 10 He who loves his brother abides in the light, and there is no cause for stumbling in him. 11 But he who hates his brother is in darkness and walks in darkness, and does not know where he is going, because the darkness has blinded his eyes.

Verse 11 tells us if we hate our brother we are in darkness and walk in darkness. This means you cannot walk away from this problem of hating your brother. The next part tells us we do not know where we are going, since we are in darkness. As you prepare yourself for this next year, consider if you truly love your brothers (Christian brothers too). Determine if your plans for the new year is based on your will or Gods’. Determine if you should humble yourself to do the Lords’ will by serving others you would prefer not. Determine if your faith is in you or in God.

A quick note on how I determine if faith is in me or in God. Is my willingness to do the thing God has called me to solely based on my past performance in this same area? Would I still do it regardless if I succeeded or failed or had zero experience in this same area? Would I still do it if I had to more than 80%, 90%, or 100% rely upon God for the ability? Now ask yourself the same questions. You already know the right answers to these questions.

The more you do what God has called you to and let Him provide the resources and ability the more you will grow your faith.

I know what you’re thinking… While this is one of the best things I’ve ever read, it’s not very motivating. Ok some of that probably isn’t true, but here is the motivating part. Philippians 4: 19 says “and my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” How is this motivating? Everything you need to do Gods’ will this next year, He will provide! So regardless of your history in the area He is calling you to, you can confidentially know He will supply.

The below journal posts will provide some help on your faith journey. In addition check out the 30 day devotional.

Journal Your Journey!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page